Down Memory Lane: Local Teams

The name Myshall “Midh Íseal” means 'low plain' and the village also gives its name to the towns land and parish. The buildings which were prominent when the village was planned in the 17th century are now domestic residences, shops and bars but retain their charm of former days.

Myshall Team 1928

Myshall Team 1930's

Myshall Football Team 1938

Myshall "Blues" Camogie team from times past



Garryhill Rovers 1938-1939
Back (L-R):
Teresa Fenelon, Carrig; Kitty Kelly, Mullins; Lil Fitzgerald; Lil Quirke; Minie Quirke; Molly Fitzgerald Kavanagh (Richie's mother)  Front (L-R): Janie Browne (Shean); Kathy Fitzpatrick (Ryder); Kitty Hickey (Barron); Kathleen Maher; Ceilia Kavanagh (Nolan) Lil Shaughnessy (Clowry)


(L-R): Teresa Fenelon, Kitty Barron, Bridie Fenelon

Myshall Lawn Tennis, Cornwall Brady Estate, Myshall in 1955


Front Row (L-R): Tommy Byrne, Pa Murphy, Ned Nolan, Jack Slye, Mick Slye, Jim Dowling, Noel Kavanagh, Willie Ryder.   Back Row (L-R): Nick Maher, Pat Nolan, Eugene Brennan, Jim Kavanagh, Andy Jordan, (unknown), Ned Tobin.

Back Row (L-R): Tommy Kavanagh, Eugene Brennan, Noel Kavanagh, Dick Maher, Pa Murphy, 'Fair' Jimmy Doyle R.I.P., Tommy Byrne, Mick Slye, Mat Murphy Referee R.I.P.
Front Row (L-R): Tom Doyle, Joe Holmes, Sean Barrett, Pat Doyle, Willie Ryder, Jack Slye, Willie Eustace.


Myshall and Ballinree United who played in the JHC Final against Palatine 1965

Back Row (L-R): 'Black' Jimmy Doyle (Ballinree), Tom Fortune, 'Fair' Jimmy Doyle R.I.P., Mick Tobin R.I.P., Luke Slye, Eddie Murphy, Brian Fox, Pat Doyle, Liam Fox, Ned Tobin, James Forrestal, Ger Tobin R.I.P., Chris Forrestal.
Front Row (L-R): Johnny Doyle, Willie Eustace, Jack Slye, Pat Slye, Pat Kelly R.I.P., Andy Ryan, John Rice, Tom Doyle, Willie Ryder, Mick Slye, Jim Tobin.

Naomh Eoin 1974 First Senior Hurling Championship

Front Row (L-R): Willie Eustace, Eamon Quirke (1-2), James Eustace, Brian Fox, Sean Quirke, Micky Nolan (0-1), Pat Nolan (0-5)  Back Row (L-R): Andy Ryan (0-1), John O'Hara, Pat Kehoe, Paddy Quirke (0-5), Liam Fox (1-0), Jimmy Doyle (0-1), John Foley, Tom Foley.  Referee: Paddy Johnson, Kilkenny


Naomh Eoin 1975 Football team


Booldorragh Tug o'war team from 1981

Naomh Eoin Club Féile 1984

Naomh Eoin 1985 U-16 Hurling team

Naomh Eoin 1986 Football Team

Community Games U-15 Boys Handball Champions 1992

Community Games U-15 Boys Handball Champions 1993

All-Ireland Féile na nGael Finalist in 1996

Myshall Camogie Leinster Finalists in 1998

Ladies Football 15-a-side League Winners 2006

Myshall Camogie Senior Champions 2006

Myshall Camogie Senior Team

Myshall Camogie U-14 Team 2006

Myshall Camogie U-12 Championship Winners 2007

Myshall Camogie Senior County Champions 2008

Back to Down Memory Lane